Speaking in Symbols

Learning the language of the subconcious

The Sow, The Horse, and the Butterfly, Pt 2

During a recent meditative session, I had the image of a sow, a black horse, and a brown butterfly come to mind in succession.  I’ve found all of these images fascinating, though I’ve had a hard time coming up with a connection. Perhaps they are all symbols that I need to consider individually.

For several days now, I have also tried to combine all three images into one big blog post, with little success. I’ve made a decision, then, to write separate posts for each animal.

The Black Horse:

Black-Horse-RunningThe horse seems to be the polar opposite of the sow–it is a masculine symbol, while the sow is feminine. The horse’s power and worth come in his ability to move, while the sow’s worth comes in her flesh, her piglets, and her staying close to the farm.

With the image of the pig, it was the sex and reproductive status that was important–I saw a sow, a female pig that has given birth. With the horse, it was the color that was important–I saw a black horse without star or stocking.

The color black indicates something hidden, a mystery. Black represents death in the west, and life in some parts of the east. I have found reference to a black horse as being symbolic of a power that a person doesn’t know that they have.

Among the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, it is Famine that rides a black horse. This brings in another contrast to the symbol of the sow–famine versus prosperity.

As I’ve been thinking about the sow, the horse and the butterfly, I realized that none of these animals is better than the others. They all serve very different purposes, and fill different niches. They, and the different parts of my psyche that they represent) could exist without each other, and be none the worse for it.  Still, there is a reason they’ve been grouped together for me. The trick is to find out why.

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Sow, The Horse, and the Butterfly, Pt 2

  1. Pingback: Dragonfly | Speaking in Symbols

Leave a Reply

